ISTERH mission and goals

The INTERNATIONAL SOCIETY FOR TRACE ELEMENT RESEARCH IN HUMANS (ISTERH) was founded in 1984 as a non-profit organization to:

– Encourage and promote increased scientific and clinical research on the causes, alleviation of suffering and the cure of trace element disorders;
– Accumulate information about trace elements, and promote its dissemination to scientists and physicians and other concerned parties;
– Educate the general public and medical profession about the existence, diagnosis and treatment of trace element disorders.

ISTERH By-Laws and Conflict of Interest Statement.

Officers
President

Michael Aschner, Ph.D.
Albert Einstein College of Medicine
USA
email: Michael.Aschner@einstein.yu.edu

Vice President

Ana Pejović-Milić, Ph.D.
Department of Physics
Ryerson University
CANADA

Secretary

James Collins, Ph.D.
University of Florida
USA
email: jfcollins@ufl.edu

Immediate past president

Hiroko Kodama, M.D., Ph.D.
Teikyo University School of Medicine
Dept. Pediatrics
JAPAN
email: kodamah2018@gmail.com

Treasurer

James McClung, Ph.D.
US Army Research Institute of Environmental Medicine
Military Nutrition Division
USA
email: James.McClung3@us.army.mil

Councilors
Jeanne Freeland-Graves, Ph.D.
The University of Texas at Austin
Department of Nutritional Sciences
USA
email: jfreelandg@yahoo.com
Katsuhiko Yokoi, M.D., Ph.D.
Seitoku University Graduate School
Department of Human Nutrition
JAPAN
email: KatsuhikoY@aol.com
S.K. Roy, Ph.D.
Bangladesh Breastfeeding Foundation
Nutrition Foundation of Bangladesh
BANGLADESH
email: skroy1950@gmail.com
Dorothy Klimis-Zacas, Ph.D.
School of Food and Agriculture
University of Maine
USA
email: dorothy.klimis@umit.maine.edu
Ingrid S. Surono, Ph.D.
SEAMEO RECFON University of Indonesia
Indonesian Scientific Society for Probiotics and Prebiotics (ISSPP)
INDONESIA
email: gridsw@yahoo.com
Trond Peder Flaten, Ph.D.
Professor
Department of Chemistry
Norwegian University of Science and Technology
NORWAY
email: trond.p.flaten@ntnu.no
Ismail Cakmak, Ph.D.
Professor, Sabanci University
Faculty of Engineering & Natural Sciences
TURKEY
email: cakmak@sabanciuniv.edu
Margarita Skalnaya, Ph.D.
RUSSIA
email: Margarita Skalnaya skalnaya@yandex.ru
Meika Foster, Ph.D.
School of Molecular Bioscience
University of Sydney
AUSTRALIA
email: meika.foster@sydney.edu.au
Silvia M. Franciscato Cozzolino, Ph.D.
Departamento de Alimentos e Nutrição Experimental
Faculdade de Ciências Farmacêuticas – USP
BRAZIL
email: smfcozzo@usp.br
Susan Fairweather-Tait, Ph.D.
Bio-Medical Research Centre (BMRC)
Norwich Medical School
University of East Anglia
UK
email: S.Fairweather-Tait@uea.ac.uk
Thomas Prates Ong, Ph.D.
Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences
Food Research Center
University of São Paulo
BRAZIL
Masahiro Kawahara, Ph.D.
Department of Bio-Analytical Chemistry
Musashino University
JAPAN
Jasna Jurasović, Ph.D.
Institute for Medical Research and Occupational Health
CROATIA
Per M. Roos, Ph.D.
Institute of Environmental Medicine
Karolinska Institutet
SWEDEN
Wolfgang Maret
Nutritional Science Division
King’s College London
UK
Atsushi Takeda, Ph.D.
School of Pharmaceutical Sciences
University of Shizuoka
JAPAN
Jane Valentine, Ph.D.
UCLA Fielding School of Public Health
USA

 

Committees

1. Standing Committees
Finance Committee
Nominating Committee
Membership Development Committee
Public Information Committee
Standardization of Trace Elements Analysis Committee

2. Ad hoc Committees
The Board of Directors may create ad hoc committees as may be deemed necessary or advisable.